Being Kashiwaya: Keeping Its Stars Burning Bright in Osaka and Hong Kong

How a mentor and his protégé are maintaining the same Michelin standards despite being separated by a sea.
Follow us
Kashiwaya is nestled in a serene residential area in the hills of northern Osaka where second-generation chef-owner Hideaki Matsuo’s spirit of omotenashi welcomes you as you make your way through a tranquil moss garden and enter the sanctuary of the restaurant that is simply decorated with sliding doors, paper partitions and tatami mats.

Omotenashi is Japanese hospitality and has its root in tea ceremony where every action in the ritual is a graceful dance performed wholeheartedly and transparently. Indeed, Kashiwaya was borne out of his passion for tea ceremony and the desire to capture the Japanese art of living over the course of a meal or even in a single dish.
https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2017/09/29/f8833e68dec44d3088df779028b0bdcb_Kashiwaya+Hong+Kong+head+chef+Atsushi+Takahashi-3.png
Atsushi Takahashi (pictured right) was a youth of 19 when he joined Kashiwaya to train under chef Matsuo. In the 21 years he spent watching and learning, he bore witness as his mentor led the restaurant to three Michelin stars for six consecutive years, never once dropping its esteemed status. 

In 2015, chef Matsuo began looking to open a second restaurant, and although Tokyo felt like the most natural option, doors opened for him in Hong Kong. “It takes 3 hours to Tokyo by Shinkansen, and 4 hours to Hong Kong by air from Osaka,” he shares. “Either place, I needed to send someone who I trusted enough as the head chef.”
He found that person in long-time apprentice Atsushi Takahashi. “He had grown up when we opened Kashiwaya Hong Kong. [In Osaka], he managed everything when I was absent. That proved to me he was qualified enough to be a head chef of a restaurant.”

When Kashiwaya finally opened its doors in Hong Kong in 2015, the culinary world watched with bated breath to see if Matsuo’s protégé would lead the Hong Kong outpost to glory as well. He did. In 2016, Kashiwaya Hong Kong received not one, but two Michelin stars.
Kashiwaya Hong Kong head chef Atsushi Takahashi
Kashiwaya Hong Kong head chef Atsushi Takahashi
The road to success is paved by painstaking attention to detail and a relationship between teacher and student that continues to grow even though they are separated by a sea. “There is a strong trust between us after working under him for 20 years,” says chef Takahashi. “I change nothing from the way I did things in Osaka and never compromise in ‘being Kawashiya’ in every way.”

From the cutlery to the kitchen utensils and ingredients used, everything was brought over from Osaka and Takahashi also made sure to carefully follow the Kashiwaya philosophy of creating seasonal menus showcasing the freshest produce in beautiful and delicious forms.
Kawashiya's cuisine is about capturing seasonality
Kawashiya's cuisine is about capturing seasonality
He says: “I have a weekly conference call with Chef Matsuo to share any issues we face in Hong Kong and understand the current situation in Osaka. In Kashiwaya Hong Kong, we change the menu monthly and I submit the draft menu to Chef Matsuo every time, and receive his lecture on the details.”

It hasn’t been all that easy to replicate everything in Hong Kong though. “I would say the biggest challenge was the water,” says chef Takahashi. “It was very difficult to make the dashi like we used to do in Osaka.” Dashi is a cornerstone of Japanese cuisine and requires meticulous attention to detail—down to the hardness of the water used to cook it. With some tweaking, he was able to produce a good dashi that received his mentor’s stamp of approval.
https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2017/09/29/a4b104747b844122aafbf568c24969aa_Hideaki+Matsuo.jpg
It’s not just the food that they continually work closely together on. “We have discussions on the cuisine and omotenashi,” explains chef Matsuo (pictured left). He means the all-encompassing experience that the diner receives upon entering the restaurant. “In this process, I emphasize two things: First, something new to challenge us every month. Second, keeping the Kashiwaya quality of balancing the creations of tomorrow and protecting the traditions of yesterday.”
In this way, both mentor and protégé are able to present the authentic Kashiwaya experience whether you visit the restaurant in Osaka or Hong Kong; an experience which is not just about a good meal that fills the stomach but the expression of the heart and soul of Japanese culture.
Share on:

柏屋: 在大阪和香港兩地閃耀的星星

相隔著一片海洋的師徒,如何在兩地維持相同的米芝蓮美食標準。
關注我們

柏屋坐落在大阪北部一個寧靜的山丘住宅區內。第二代主廚兼店主松尾英明(Hideaki Matsuo)以日本標準的待客禮儀 Omotenashi 精神歡迎顧客的光臨,引領客人穿過寧靜的日式花園,來到裝潢簡單的餐廳玄關處,一個很小的滑動門、 紙隔牆和榻榻米。

Omotenashi 代表的是日本人的待客之道。這股精神,與日本茶道有著密切關系。負責人在客人面前,每一個沏茶步驟都猶如優雅的舞蹈表演,坦然公開,發自於內心。柏屋的誕生,正是源自於他對茶道的熱情,渴望將這種日本生活美學藝術在每一道料理中呈現出來。

https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2017/09/29/f8833e68dec44d3088df779028b0bdcb_Kashiwaya+Hong+Kong+head+chef+Atsushi+Takahashi-3.png

高橋淳(右圖)打從19歲開始就加入了柏屋,並在松尾師傅的門下學習。在過去21年的光景,他不斷地觀摩與學習,也見證了師傅領導的餐廳在不負眾望下,連續 7 年獲得米芝蓮三星的肯定。

2015年,松尾師傅開始尋找開設第二間餐廳的機會,東京看起來是最自然不過的選擇,但他最終選擇了香港。他表示:「從大阪乘坐新幹線到東京需要3個小時,而坐飛機到香港是4小時。但無論是哪一個地方,我都需要一個我能全權信賴的人來擔任主廚。」

Advertisements

這個人正是他的長期入室弟子高橋淳。 「當我們在香港開業時,他已培養了足夠的擔當能力。其實當我不在大阪時,所有事物都是他來替我打點。這也證明了,他有足夠的資格成為餐廳的掌舵主廚。」

2015 年,當柏屋終於落戶香港時,整個美食界屏息以待,松尾的門徒是否也能為香港據點帶來光輝榮耀?事實證明,他做到了。 2016年,香港的柏屋得到的不是一星,而是米芝蓮二星的肯定。

香港柏屋主廚高橋淳
香港柏屋主廚高橋淳

在這條通往成功的路上,處處是師徒兩人對於細節近乎痛苦的執著,以及盡管隔著一片海,日益成長的師徒之情。高橋主廚說:「跟隨他工作20年之久,我們之間有很強的信任,我現在做的事和在大阪做的事,沒有絲毫不同,那股『作為柏屋』的精神,也從未有任何妥協的餘地。」

餐廳的一切,從刀具到廚具到原材料,都是從大阪帶過來香港。高橋主廚也小心翼翼地貫徹柏屋的料理精神,以最新鮮的食材,炮製出最美味的季節性料理。

柏屋的料理精神在於呈現最佳的季節性美食。
柏屋的料理精神在於呈現最佳的季節性美食。

他說:「我與松尾師傅每週都會進行一次電話會議,我會與他分享我們在香港遇到的任何問題,同時了解大阪餐廳的最新情況。在香港柏屋,我們每月會更換菜單,我在事前會向松尾師傅提交起草的菜單,並聽取他在所有細節上所給予的指導。」

然而,想要在香港複製大阪的一切,並非易事。高橋主廚說:「我認為最大的挑戰就是水。想在香港製作出和大阪一樣的日式高湯(Dashi)非常困難。」 日式高湯是整個日本料理的基石,要做出一鍋好湯,需要一絲不苟的細節照顧,包括用來煮湯的水的硬度。在做了一些調整後,他終於做出了得到師傅點頭批准的日式高湯。

https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2017/09/29/a4b104747b844122aafbf568c24969aa_Hideaki+Matsuo.jpg


師徒倆的密切合作,不僅僅在於他們炮製的料理。松尾師傅(左圖)說道:「我們會討論美食,也會討論 Omotenashi。」 他所指的是食客進入餐廳後,全方位的餐廳體驗。 「在這個過程中,我強調兩件事:首先,每個月都要挑戰一些新的東西;其次,保持柏屋的品質,即要挑戰明天的創新,也要保護昨天的傳統,在兩者之間找到一個平衡。」

通過這樣的方式,無論你造訪的是大阪或香港的餐廳,師徒倆都能為你呈現正宗的柏屋體驗。不僅僅是填飽肚子的一餐,也是一次體會日本文化精髓的美食饗宴。

本文由 Rachel Tan 撰寫,並由 LY 翻譯。於這裡觀看原文。
分享至: