Chef Spotlight: Alvin Leung of Bo Innovation On The Journey To Three Michelin Stars

Demon chef Alvin Leung shares his thoughts on the best and worst thing about receiving Michelin stars.
Follow us
He's known best for his Demon Chef persona, his out-of-this-world gastronomic creations, and a penchant for speaking the truth. In fact, it's hard to remember that Alvin Leung once started as a busboy in the kitchen, and didn't have any formal training as a chef. Here, we sit down to speak to him about what it's been like leading Bo Innovation to three Michelin stars.
Growing up in Toronto, what were some of your best food memories? What food do you remember missing from Hong Kong, after you moved over to Canada?

Immigrating to Toronto as a very young child, some obvious things I missed were wonton noodle and egg waffles, which weren’t readily available in the 60s in Canada. Now, Toronto has a great scene for Asian and Chinese cuisine.

At the age of 16, you entered the restaurant business as a bus boy at a Chinese restaurant in Scarborough and then promptly left. What prompted you to leave? And why did you go on to work in engineering instead of going back to F&B?

When I was 16, it was merely a part time or summer job, but I was always interested in food and wanted to enter the food industry. A kitchen was an exciting place. However, I had obligations to my family’s engineering business. Later on, when the opportunity came up to enter the industry again, I jumped on it right away.
Advertisements
https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2017/09/16/b801067cd22549409ad0d4f8c8ed3910_MCC2_Alvin_GREY_1253F2+copy.jpg
You were approached to take over Bo Innoseki when it wasn't doing well. What made you decide to take on the role?

It had been a Japanese restaurant run by a friend and 2003 with SARS was a tough time for everyone in Hong Kong. The opportunity came up for me to be a partner and I jumped at it. It was an inexpensive opportunity. Nowadays, to be enter the industry you need millions to pay the high rent, deposit, and decoration.
At the start of Bo Innovation, you invented a dish called “Sex on the Beach” (featuring an edible condom filled with honey and ham). What was your plan and direction for Bo Innovation then?

The goal has always been to be innovative. That particular dish was a spur of the moment creation. At the time, people were creating dishes that purposely didn’t look like food. It resembled non-food items. I was thinking of how I could create something playful and slightly provocative to raise money for AIDS research. It presented it as an a la carte item on my menu and all the proceeds went to an AIDS organization.

Where did you get your inspirations from, at the start? How do you continue to look for inspiration?

Inspirations come from everywhere through the five senses – see, hear, taste, touch and smell. In fact, inspirations came from everywhere but rarely from other restaurants.
One of chef Alvin Leung's creations, Organic “long jiang” chicken, with aged acquerello rice, wooden fungus and sand ginger.
One of chef Alvin Leung's creations, Organic “long jiang” chicken, with aged acquerello rice, wooden fungus and sand ginger.
What were your thoughts when you got two Michelin stars in 2009?

I was surprised and happy. Then I thought, now what do I have to do to get the third star.

What did you tell yourself when Bo Innovation subsequently got one star in 2010 and 2011? Did the pressure to maintain and go back up the star ladder double?

Obviously I was disappointed. I thought maybe I was headed in the wrong direction with my cooking so I had to re-position myself. I took it as a lesson to learn about why I dropped and what do I have to change to get back up. However I never look at it as pressure. Pressure does not help you achieve what you want. Also, my staff and loyal clients have been very supportive. That helps.
An interior shot of three-Michelin-starred Bo Innovation, a restaurant ahead of its time.
An interior shot of three-Michelin-starred Bo Innovation, a restaurant ahead of its time.
Big names like Michelin have taken flak over the years for how they dish out stars. What are your thoughts on that?

Any magazine or guide that gauges anything on a scale will be open to praise and criticism. Any type of guide whether it’s Michelin, the Best 50 List, or TripAdvisor will get flak for what they do. It’s all subjective. I maintain an attitude of gratefulness and it's an honour of recommendation. Mostly, I try to keep an even keel about such matters, focus not on politics or motives.

What do having Michelin stars mean to you today?

It’s an honour, of course. An achievement and success. But the journey continues. There’re always new challenges and restaurants, and to maintain the Michelin standing is tough work.

What is the best and worst thing about owning Michelin-starred restaurants?

Best thing is it’s great advertisement for your restaurant. The worst thing is then everyone wants to poach your staff.
Share on:

有請大廚:Bo Innovation 梁經倫米芝蓮三星之路

廚魔梁經倫(Alvin Leung)分享榮獲米芝蓮星的最好與最壞。
關注我們

他以特立獨行的廚魔性格與顛覆傳統創意菜式見稱,敢說敢言。實際上,人們已經不大記得,梁經倫的出身是廚房裡的雜工,從來沒有接受過正式廚師訓練。我們與他進行專訪,分享引領 Bo Innovation 摘下米芝蓮三星,是什麼感受。

在多倫多成長,有哪些難忘的美食記憶?搬到加拿大以後,最想念香港的哪些食物?

我在很小的時候就移居多倫多,最想念的就是雲吞麵、雞蛋仔,這些食物要到 60 年代以後才能在加拿大找到。現在的多倫多,有很多中餐與亞洲料理。

16 歲初入餐廳業,在士嘉堡(Scarborough)的一家中餐廳擔任雜工,但很快就離開,為什麼?之後為何轉向工程業發展而不是餐飲? 

16 歲時只想打一份暑期工,而我對食物一直很感興趣,所以加入了餐廳業。廚房是很精彩的地方。不過,家裡經營工程生意,我需要履行自己的家庭責任。後來,有機會再回到餐飲業時,我馬上就投入其中。

https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2017/09/16/b801067cd22549409ad0d4f8c8ed3910_MCC2_Alvin_GREY_1253F2+copy.jpg


接手 Bo Innoseki 時,餐廳生意欠佳。你怎麼會決定接下這個擔子?

那是一間朋友經營的日本料理,2003 年受到沙士打擊,香港每個人的日子都不好過。機會出現,找我入股合作時,我答應了。當時需要投入的資金不是很多。換成今天,要加入餐飲業至少要有好幾百萬來承擔昂貴的租金、押金、裝修等等。

Advertisements

Bo Innovation 創店初期,你發明了一道菜 Sex on the Beach(可食用安全套,裝有蜂蜜與火腿)。你當時對 Bo Innovation 的計劃和發展方向,有什麼想法?

我的宗旨一直都是保持創新。那道菜是一時靈機一動想到的。那陣子,大家都在創造一些看起來不像食物的菜式。我思考著如何創造一些比較好玩,而又有點挑釁意味的東西,來為愛滋病研究籌款。我把這道菜放在散點菜單上,所有的收入都捐給一家愛滋病機構。

你的靈感來自何處?如何確保靈感源源不絕?

靈感無所不在,來自五官的觸覺、味覺、聽覺、視覺、嗅覺。實際上,靈感來自生活中的方方面面,但很少來自其他餐廳。

廚魔梁經倫發明的其中一道菜,有機龍江雞,搭配 Acquerello 陳年意大利米、木耳以及粵菜中常用的沙薑。
廚魔梁經倫發明的其中一道菜,有機龍江雞,搭配 Acquerello 陳年意大利米、木耳以及粵菜中常用的沙薑。
2009年榮獲米芝蓮二星時,有什麼感覺?

很驚訝,很開心。然後就想,現在該如何拿到第三顆星。

Bo Innovation 在 2010 年及 2011 年只得到一星,有什麼想法?是否面對更大的壓力?

我當然很失望。我想可能是烹飪手法走錯方向了,需要重新自我定位。我把它當作一堂課,從中吸取教訓,了解自己為何退步、該如何回到之前的表現。不過,我從來不覺得這是一種壓力。壓力不會幫助你達到目標。而且,我的員工與忠實客戶一直都很支持我,這對我很有幫助。
米芝蓮三星餐廳 Bo Innovation 的開放式吧檯,風格一直走在時代的最前線。
米芝蓮三星餐廳 Bo Innovation 的開放式吧檯,風格一直走在時代的最前線。
像米芝蓮這樣的著名評級如何頒發星星,多年來一直受人議論。你的看法呢?

任何做出評級的刊物或指南,都會受到讚賞與批評。任何類型的指南,無論是米芝蓮、世界 50 最佳餐廳或是 TripAdvisor,都會遭受攻擊。一切都很主觀。能夠獲得推薦,我心存感恩,引以為榮。多數時候,我對這種事情盡量保持平常心,不去想什麼政治目的或幕後動機。

今時今日,獲得米芝蓮星對你有何意義?

當然覺得很光榮。這是一種成就與成功,但旅途還是要繼續。前面還有很多新的挑戰與新出現的餐廳,要保持米芝蓮水準也是艱難的任務。

擁有米芝蓮餐廳的最好與最壞方面?

好處是這是餐廳的最佳廣告。壞處是大家都想挖走你的員工。

本文由 Meryl Koh 撰寫,並由黃匡寧翻譯。於這裡觀看原文。
分享至: