Refrigerate Or Not? 10 Kitchen Staples And Some Surprising Answers

The refrigerator isn’t the safest haven for everything.
Follow us
Most of us come home from the supermarket and unload our grocery bags unthinkingly. Meats and fish in the fridge; chuck the frozen pizza into the freezer; canned foods in the pantry, check. Maybe it’s a matter of habit or the way your parents taught you growing up, but have you ever stopped to think if where you’ve been putting the tomatoes all your life is really the best place to store it?

We take a look at 10 ingredients you probably have sitting in your kitchen and see if they are in the right place—in the fridge or out on the counter. Some of them might just surprise you.
REFRIGERATE

Maple syrup
Pure maple syrup must be refrigerated once opened as mold will grow on the inside of the bottle. If you plan on having this particular bottle of maple syrup in the year 3000, store it in the freezer where it will keep indefinitely in a semi-solid state.

Sesame oil and other unrefined oil
Unrefined nut oils, like sesame oil commonly used in Chinese cooking, should be refrigerated because they are prone to go rancid and lose their flavour. Refined oil of any origin, including peanut oil, will last indefinitely at room temperature.

Ketchup
The high acidity in ketchup keeps it pretty shelf-stable even after opening and restaurants can keep their ketchup bottles out on the table because the turnover is high, but if you aren’t intending to use it up in about a month, stick it in the fridge where it will keep fresher longer.

DON’T REFRIGERATE

Chocolate

Now, chocolate is a finicky one. Too warm (anything above 23°C) and the chocolate melts, too cold and the condensation that occurs when you take it out of the fridge causes a rough white surface called sugar bloom. The cocoa butter in chocolate also absorbs odors in the fridge. Clearly, the best place to store chocolate is in your mouth, but if you insist on rationing, keep it tightly wrapped and in a cool cupboard. 

Tomatoes
Get them out of the vegetable chiller, stat! Tomatoes don’t like the cold and keeping them in the fridge causes their cell structure to break down, resulting in that mealy, mushy texture we all hate.

Soy sauce
Soy sauce and other fermented condiments like fish sauce will sit just fine at room temperature where they might continue to ferment more and change a little in taste, but are still safe to consume.

Hot sauce
Hot sauces are usually vinegar-based and can sit out on the counter for about three years. That means more room in the fridge door for essentials, like beer.
Honey
Keeping honey in the fridge causes it to crystallize and become impossible to use. Fun fact: honey doesn’t spoil and doesn’t attract ants. The high sugar content and antibacterial properties of pure honey prevents bacteria from growing; moreover, honey has almost no water content and so doesn’t attract ants if you keep the jar in a dry place.

Coffee beans
The best place for your grounds and your whole beans are in an opaque airtight container in your pantry. Like chocolate, coffee absorb odors from the fridge and the fluctuating temperatures actually cause moisture to collect in the packet, resulting in a loss of aroma and flavour. 

Bread 
Surprisingly, bread gets stale much more quickly in the refrigerator in a process called retrogradation, where starch molecules recrystallize in the cold causing the bread to harden. Bread that’s left on the counter is best eaten in a few days or it risks going moldy. For the taste of freshly-baked bread every time though, wrap it well to retain moisture and throw it in the freezer. 

Share on:

該不該存放冰箱?十種常備食品的正確收藏方式

冰箱不是所有食品的萬能避風港。
關注我們

很多人從超級市場裡大包小包回到家中,就開始不假思索地整理:肉類與魚類放在冰箱裡,冷凍披薩餅放進冷凍格,罐頭放在廚房裡,完成!也許是從小到大養成的習慣,但你是否曾停下來想想,這輩子一直存放番茄的地方,是不是最理想的儲藏處?

一起來看看廚房裡十種最常見的食品,到底應該放在冰箱,還是廚房櫃子上。有些事實也許會出乎意料之外哦。

Advertisements

存放冰箱

楓糖漿
純楓糖漿一旦打開以後就必須存入冰箱,因為瓶子裡會生長黴菌。如果你打算把這瓶楓糖漿留到 3000 年才吃的話,放入冷凍格裡就能長期保持半固體狀態。

芝麻油與其他未精製油品
未精製堅果油,如中式烹飪常用的芝麻油,必須存放冰箱,因為它們很容易變質而失去原本的味道。各類精製油,包括花生油,則可以長期在室溫裡保持不變。

番茄醬
番茄醬的酸性很高,打開以後還可以放在櫃子裡。餐館的人流量大,可以把番茄擺在餐桌上,但如果你不會在一個月內用完這瓶番茄醬的話,放在冰箱裡會比較耐久。

不需存放冰箱

朱古力
朱古力是最難搞的。太熱(攝氏23度以上)會融化,太冷又會凝結,從冰箱裡拿出來時表層會有一層白色的糖花。朱古力裡的可可脂也會吸收冰箱裡的味道。當然,朱古力的最佳存放地點就是放入口中,但如果一定要留到改天才吃,一定要好好包起來,放在陰涼的櫥櫃裡。

番茄
把番茄從冰箱裡的蔬菜格都拿出來!番茄不喜歡低溫,放在冰箱裡會導致番茄果肉散裂,口感軟爛,失去鮮味。

醬油
醬油及其他發酵調味料(如魚露),放在室溫裡會比較好。他們也許會繼續發酵而味道有點改變,但還是可以安全食用的。

辣醬
辣醬一般都是以醋為基礎,放在架子上可耐大約三年。也就是說,冰箱裡可以騰出空間存放其他更需要的物品,如啤酒。

蜂蜜
把蜂蜜存放冰箱,會導致結晶而無法使用。冷知識:蜂蜜不會變壞,也不會引來螞蟻。純蜂蜜的高糖分與抗菌特性避免細菌滋生,而且,蜂蜜不含水分,只要把罐子放在乾燥的地方,就不會引來螞蟻。

咖啡豆
收藏咖啡豆或咖啡粉的最佳方式,是裝在不透光的密封容器裡。和朱古力一樣,咖啡會吸收冰箱裡的味道,溫度變化會導致咖啡吸收濕度,香味流失。

麵包
不說不知,麵包放在冰箱裡會更快變得不新鮮,這是因為一種稱為凝沉(retrigradation)的現象,澱粉顆粒在低溫中重新結晶,導致麵包變硬。擺在室溫裡的麵包最好在幾天內吃完,以免發霉。要享有新鮮麵包滋味,最好將麵包包起來以保存水分,在放入冷凍格裡。


本文由 Rachel Tan 撰寫,並由黃匡寧翻譯。於這裡觀看原文。
分享至: