The Vegetarian Spectrum: A Glossary of Terms

From flexitarian to pescetarian, this glossary of terms demystifies the many ways people approach eating green.
Follow us
There are many reasons people choose to be vegetarian. Traditionally, parental preferences, moral or religious beliefs were the factors, but increasingly health and environmental concerns have become the oft-cited reasons for people going green.

In fact, according to Google Trends data, the search interest for “vegan” peaked right at the turn of 2017—probably from people trying to make new year’s resolutions to live better—and is still on an upward trend late into the year.

SEE RELATED: 2017 Food Trends To Look Out For
Advertisements
It most certainly helps that the vegan/vegetarian movement has shed its stuffy image with its growing popularity on social media and among celebrities (Ellie Goulding and Liam Hemsworth to name a few prolific vegans). In addition to this, it has become more accessible to adopt a meat-free diet, with more vegetarian and vegan options in supermarkets and restaurant menus.
https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2017/09/04/ec9b910700bc430dac97a26ba28b52bb_shutterstock_649626805.jpg
Going green isn’t as straightforward as it seems though and there is a whole spectrum of vegetarian diets that have their own inclusions and exclusions. If you are considering taking the plunge and giving up meat, picking the right kind of vegetarian diet may be confusing for you.

Here’s a list of vegetarian diets that you can adopt—and a bonus one at the end if you’re just looking to dip your toes in the (green) water.
Veganism
Adherents to the vegan diet do not consume animal meat or animal products such as eggs, dairy and honey. You can further embrace vegan living by avoiding the use of other animal by-products like leather, fur, silk, wool, and cosmetics and soaps with animal-derived ingredients.

Raw Veganism
Give your stove a break with this diet that excludes all food and products of animal origin, as well as food cooked at a temperature above 48°C (118°F). The idea is that heating food destroys its nutrients and natural enzymes that boost digestion and fight chronic disease.

Fruitarianism
This very controversial diet is a subset of raw veganism and involves—as its name suggests—a diet consisting of about 75% raw fruit by weight, and 25% nuts and seeds. Managed improperly, you will not be able to get all your nutritional needs from this diet. The late Steve Jobs adopted fruitarianism for some time claiming it fueled his creativity, but when actor Ashton Kutcher tried it for a month before playing Jobs in a film, he wound up in hospital.

Ovo-vegetarianism
“Ovo” is the Latin word for egg and this type of vegetarianism allows for the consumption of eggs but not dairy products. The driving motivations are based on the perceived cruelty of the industrial practice of keeping a cow constantly lactating and slaughtering unwanted male calves, as opposed to egg-laying hens which produce unfertilized eggs for consumption.

Lacto-vegetarianism
Conversely, lacto-vegetarians (“lacto” from the Latin root word for milk) do consume dairy products but cut out eggs from their diets. Lacto-vegetarian diets are popular with many followers of the Eastern religious traditions such as Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism and Sikhism. 

Ovo-lacto-vegetarianism/Vegetarianism
When someone says they’re vegetarian, this is what they usually mean. General vegetarians do not consume meat of any kind, but eat both dairy and egg products. This is a great starting point if you want to go green and it is a relatively easy diet to follow with adequate calcium and protein intake.

Pescetarianism
A pescetarian’s diet includes fish and seafood in addition to vegetarian foods such as beans, vegetables, fruits, dairy and grains. Looking for sustainable seafood sources benefits the environment, while including fish in a vegetarian diet will ensure a healthy amount of iron.

Flexitarianism
Here’s one for those not quite ready to commit. You can still do your part for the environment and your health by reducing meat consumption through movements like Green Monday which has been embraced around the world. This diet is more about adopting a healthier eating habit by including more vegetarian meals and seeing meat as more of an occasional accompaniment. 
Share on:

素食者新詞彙大全

從彈性素食主義(Flexitarian)到魚素食主義(Pescetarian),各種新詞彙的誕生,解釋了人們不同的素食理念與實踐方式。
關注我們

人們吃素的原因各有不同,一般上基於宗教信仰、道德或從小隨父母養成的飲食習慣,但隨着對健康與環保的意識提高,也成為人們提倡吃素的一大原因。

根據谷歌趨勢數據(Google Trends data)顯示,「素食者」一詞的網絡搜索量在踏入2017年之際達到了新高點。這也許反映了大家在新一年希望過上更優質的生活。而踏入今年後半段,這個關鍵詞的搜索量仍處于上升趨勢。

Advertisements

有賴於社交網絡的推波助瀾以及奉行素食主義的名人如 Ellie Goulding 和 Liam Hemsworth 引發的明星效應,打破大衆對吃素等於沈悶無聊的印象。而隨着超市和餐館提供更多的素食選擇,如今人們想要享用一餐無肉類的美食,也變得更為方便。

談到吃素,指的不再只是簡單直接的不吃肉。人們按照各自的理念,衍生出了各種素食主義分類。如果你也考慮放棄肉食,加入素食行列,思考如何選擇適合自己的食素方式,也許會讓人感到相當混淆。

以下我們們列出各種不同素食主義的飲食方式。其中最後一項,適合想要試水溫的素食新手們參考。

純素主義 (Veganism)
奉行純素食主義者不吃任何肉類或與動物相關的食物,如雞蛋、乳制品和蜜糖。如果想進一步貫徹素食理念,也會避免使用動物製成的産品如皮革、皮草、絲綢、羊毛或任何含動物成分的化妝護膚品。

生素食主義 (Raw Veganism)
飲食原則是不碰一切肉食與動物相關的製成品,也不吃超過攝氏48度(118華氏度)烹煮的食物。生素食主義者相信食物加熱超過此溫度後,營養價值將流失,有助消化和對抗慢性疾病的天然酶素也會遭到破壞。 

果食主義 (Fruitarianism)
這類素食方式備受爭議。顧名思義,果食主義者的日常飲食中,生果佔了 75% 的大部分比例,核仁果籽佔 25% 。與生素食主義者一樣,他們不碰任何動物相關的製成品或食物,但若執行得不好,人們將無法在這類素食方式中攝取均衡的營養。蘋果創辦人 Steve Jobs 生前曾有過一段時間奉行果食法,並深信這有助於激發創意,而荷里活演員 Ashton Kutcher 曾為了演出電影中 Steve Jobs 的角色,嘗試一個月果食法,結果健康出問題被送入院。  

蛋素食主義 (Ovo-vegetarianism)
Ovo 在拉丁文中意指雞蛋。主張蛋素食主義的人會吃雞蛋,但不碰奶製品。支持這種飲食法的人,主要原因是有感於奶製品工業過於殘酷,奶牛長期被限制在狹小的環境不斷生殖、産奶,小公牛就只有直接被送入屠宰場的命運。

奶素食主義 (Lacto-vegetarianism )
Lacto 在拉丁文中指牛奶。這類素食者日常生活中會吃奶製品,但不碰雞蛋,這類素食法在東方宗教如印度教、耆那教、佛教和錫克教的信徒中尤其普遍。 

蛋奶素食主義 (Ovo-lacto-vegetarianism/Vegetarianism)
一個人若說他吃素,那十之八九屬於這類素食主義者。這類素食者一般不吃任何肉類,但會吃奶製品和雞蛋。如果想開始嘗試吃素,這會是很好的起點,較容易在生活中執行,也能攝取人體所需的鈣質與蛋白質。

魚素食主義 (Pescetarianism)
這類素食者日常飲食包括蔬菜、豆類、水果、奶製品和穀糧,也攝取海鮮魚類。但他們會選擇有助保護環境的可續性海鮮食品,在日常飲食裡加入海鮮魚類,也有助素食者攝取適量的鐵質。 

彈性素食主義 (Flexitarianism)
對於那些不太確定是否能適應素食生活的人士,可嘗試這類素食法。通過減少食肉量,比如響應全球盛行的 Green Monday,每星期吃素一天,為保護環境和個人健康盡一份力。這類飲食方式主張在餐食中加入更多蔬菜選擇,僅在特別日子吃肉類食物,養成更健康的飲食習慣。

延伸閱讀:鷹嘴豆水蛋白霜食譜

本文由 Rachel Tan 撰寫,並由 LY 翻譯。於這裡觀看原文。
分享至: