History of the Michelin Guide

Follow us
As with all great inventions that have changed the course of history, the Michelin Guide didn't start out as the iconic dining guide it is today esteemed to be.

Advertisements

In fact, its roots were far more humble: the little red guidebook was originally conceived simply to encourage more motorists to take to the road.

https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2016/08/29/8aeeff838b8f4023aa0418a1746d96a9_Andre+and+Edouard+Michelin.png

A grand vision

It all started in Clermont-Ferrand in central France in 1889, when brothers Andre and Edouard Michelin founded their eponymous tyre company, fuelled by a grand vision for the French automobile industry at a time when there were fewer than 3,000 cars in the country.

In order to help motorists develop their trips - thereby boosting car sales and in turn, tyre purchases - the Michelin brothers produced a small guide filled with handy information for travellers, such as maps, information on how to change a tyre, where to fill up on petrol, and wonderfully - for the traveller in search of respite from the adventures of the day - a listing of places to eat or take shelter for the night.

https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2016/08/29/aa6668bb686a45edb5e8e8ba1589ac43_Andre+and+Edouard+Michelin+2.png

For two decades, all that information came at no cost. Until a fateful encounter that remains a favourite anecdote we repeat today, when Andre Michelin arrived at a tyre shop to see his beloved guides being used to prop up a workbench. Based on the principle that “man only truly respects what he pays for”, a brand new Michelin Guide was launched in 1920 and sold at seven francs.

A better way forward

For the first time, it included a list of hotels in Paris, lists of restaurants according to specific categories, as well as the abandonment of paid-for advertisements in the guide.

Acknowledging the growing influence of the guide’s restaurant section, the Michelin brothers also recruited a team of mystery diners - or restaurant inspectors, as we better know them today - to visit and review restaurants anonymously.

In 1926, the guide began to award stars for fine dining establishments, initially marking them only with a single star. Five years later, a hierarchy of zero, one, two, and three stars was introduced, and in 1936, the criteria for the starred rankings were published.

During the rest of 20th century, thanks to its serious and unique approach, the Michelin Guides became best-sellers without equals: the guide now rates over 40,000 establishments in over 24 territories across three continents, and more than 30 million Michelin Guides have been sold worldwide since.

Today, the remarkable foresight of the founding Michelin brothers has given the company a vocation that is as relevant in 2016 as it was in 1900 – namely, to make driving, tourism and the search for unforgettable experiences available to all.

Share on:

米芝蓮指南的歷史

關注我們

如同所有改變歷史的偉大發明一樣,米芝蓮指南一開始的時候,並不享有它今日作為全球標志性餐飲指南的權威和尊貴地位。事實上,這本“小紅書”的誕生,不過是為了鼓勵駕駛者多多使用公路。


https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2016/08/29/8aeeff838b8f4023aa0418a1746d96a9_Andre+and+Edouard+Michelin.png

偉大的願景


一切始於1889年。

在法國中部城市克萊蒙費朗(Clermont-Ferrand),有一對兄弟安德烈.米芝蓮( Andre Michelin)和愛德華·米芝蓮(Edouard Michelin)創立了同名輪胎公司。當時法國國內的車輛總數少於3000輛,但兄弟倆胸懷大志,有意借此推動法國汽車業。

為了提高汽車銷量、推動輪胎採購率,米芝蓮兄弟想方設法“協助”公路駕駛者策劃行程——他們著手制作一本小冊,納入各種實用信息,從如何換輪胎、哪裡打油、可在哪裡歇腳和用餐,甚至是將到哪裡借宿等信息,都收錄在冊子中。


米芝蓮兄弟免費刊登小冊整整二十年,直到一天,安德烈·米芝蓮來到輪胎店,看到心愛的小冊居然被用來墊高工作台。他有感,“人隻會尊重自己付費得到的東西”,那次經歷催生出新的米芝蓮指南。1920年,米芝蓮指南以法郎7元的定價零售。


https://robert-parker-michelin-hk-prod.s3.amazonaws.com/media/image/2016/08/29/aa6668bb686a45edb5e8e8ba1589ac43_Andre+and+Edouard+Michelin+2.png

向前的路


嶄新的米芝蓮指南,第一次納入巴黎酒店,並根據類別列出名單,同時超前地擯棄付費廣告。


有鑒於指南中的“餐廳”項目影響力越來越大,米芝蓮兄弟招募了一支神秘的食客——也稱“米芝蓮評審員”,以匿名的方式上餐廳,然后給予評價

1926年,米芝蓮指南開始給精致的高級餐廳頒授星星,從最初的一顆星開始,到五年之后設立零、一、二及三星架構。1936年,米芝蓮指南也對外公布了星級排名的標准。


多年來,米芝蓮指南因其慎重而獨特的方法,成為全球獨一無二的餐飲暢銷書。目前來說,米芝蓮指南橫跨三大洲24個地區,評價的餐廳超過4萬家,在全球賣出超過3000萬本。


不論是1900年或2016年,米芝蓮指南為普羅大眾塑造難忘的駕駛和旅游體驗的這一份使命不變。如此看來,活在100多年前的米芝蓮兄弟多麼有遠見。


分享至: