To the Stars and Beyond

Follow us
You may have heard of Michelin's unique restaurant rating system, but how much do you really know about what the coveted stars stand for? Here's a quick guide to the Michelin Guide's starry universe.

Stars and Covers

The Michelin Guide conveys its restaurant reviews through short two to three-line summaries and an extensive system of symbols, the most revered of which are its globally renowned stars. Restaurants may receive zero to 3 stars for the quality of their food based on five criteria: quality of the ingredients used, mastery of flavour and cooking techniques, the personality of the chef in his cuisine, value for money and consistency between visits.

Restaurant inspectors do not look at interior decor, table setting, or service quality in awarding stars - these are instead indicated by the number of 'covers' it receives, represented by the fork and spoon symbol.

Advertisements

Bib Gourmand

Not quite a star, but most definitely not a consolation prize, the Bib Gourmand - named after Bibendum, the friendly Michelin Man and the official company mascot for the Michelin Group - is a just-as-esteemed rating that recognises friendly establishments that serve good food at moderate prices.

As Michelin Guide inspectors travel and taste their way through fine dining establishments around the globe, they are also on the constant look out for restaurants that offer high-quality food at pocket-friendly prices. These accumulated observations resulted in the creation of a separate rating category to recognise such restaurants.

Initially, restaurants were flagged with a red “R” symbol to indicate to readers that they were destinations that served “good cuisine at reasonable prices” – namely, a three-course meal with starter, main course and dessert, within a fixed price range (which today stands at €36 in most European cities, US$40 in American cities, HK300 in Hong Kong and Y5,000 in Tokyo).

In 1997, the Bib Gourmand symbol - the image of the Michelin Man licking his lips - was debuted in the Michelin Guide for the first time. Since then, Bibendum has become a well-loved beacon for value-seeking diners looking out for good deals.

Thanks to Bibendum and the Bib Gourmand, Michelin inspectors have noted the increase in the number of restaurateurs dedicated to providing authentic dining experiences by way of quality cuisine at affordable prices in approachable and friendly establishments.

In the latest 2016 edition of the Paris guide, a brand new L’assiette or The Plate symbol was launched to recognise restaurants that 'simply serve good food'.

Global Variance

The Michelin Guide does recognise local food variance too: in territories such as Spain, noteworthy tapas bars are recognised by an additional wine and toothpick symbol, while quality pubs in the UK/Ireland guide are marked with a beer mug symbol. Meanwhile, restaurants with impressive notable wine, sake and cocktail lists are recognised with the grape, sake bottle and cocktail glass symbols respectively.

Share on:

米芝蓮評級制度

關注我們

米芝蓮獨特的餐廳評級制度,你可能聽說過,但餐廳和大廚夢寐以求的星星,究竟代表什麼?



星星


一向以來,米芝蓮指南隻用簡短的兩三行字發表對餐廳的評價。除此之外,米芝蓮指南採用一系列符號作額外補充,當中最耀眼的符號是享譽全球的米芝蓮星。餐廳供應的美食將依據公開的評估標准審核,這五項標准是:食材品質、廚師對味道以及烹調技巧的駕馭能力、料理中袒露的個性、是否物有所值以及餐飲水准的一致性。餐廳被評分之后可能獲頒0到3顆星。“評審員”授予餐館星星時,不看餐館裝潢、餐桌布置,或服務質量,這些間接透過餐館吸引上門的食客人數、或通過交叉的湯匙和叉子符號來表達。


必比登推介(Bib Gourmand)

米芝蓮“評審員”在世界各地穿梭於高級餐館尋味的同時,也在尋找地道的超值餐廳,所以指南中開辟了這麼一個類別。


1997年,Bib Gourmand符號——米芝蓮輪胎人舔嘴唇的形象——首次出現在米芝蓮指南中。自那時起,Bibendum成為尋找超值餐飲體驗的食客的一盞明燈。


也多虧必比登及Bib Gourmand, 米芝蓮“評審員”發現有越來越多餐飲家致力以中價位呈現正宗、高水准的餐飲體驗。


在最新的米芝蓮指南巴黎(2016),還出現了全新的L’assiette或餐碟的符號,用之代表“口味尚佳” 。


全球地方性差異


米芝蓮指南承認地方性美食有其獨特性,比如在西班牙,一些高水准的西班牙小吃店(tapas)獲得一個額外的葡萄酒和牙簽符號,英國愛爾蘭指南中,有水准的酒吧都標上啤酒杯的符號。同時,餐館若有讓人印象深刻的葡萄酒、清酒和雞尾酒單,米其林指南也送上葡萄、清酒瓶及雞尾酒杯的符號,以資肯定。


分享至: